A Thin Line Between Intuition & Anxiety

July 12, 2017 | 11:54 A.M. | Subway Train Headed To Work

The theme this week has been trusting my intuition. However, I came across one stifling issue and that is my anxiety.

At one point in my life I thought that anxiety was my intuition revealing to me the reality of something or someone, but after a while I started to recognize the flaw in my assumption. While I believe myself to posses a strong intuition, I often times get my intuition mixed up with what is really anxiety.

This made me want to better understand the difference between my intuition and my anxiety and here is what I came up with:

Anxiety is a fear based feeling that feeds off of the blend of negative thoughts and troubled emotions. It can be felt in the throat which gets very tense, making it difficult to breathe. It’s the clinching of jaw and grinding of the teeth. It’s what crowds your mind with irrational and terrifying thoughts.

Intuition is a feeling that stems from previous knowledge. It is a soundless voice that can often be felt vibrating in your chest. It’s a feeling that often tells you the right direction to go. It’s a feeling you get when you meet someone for the first time and you instantly know what kind of person they are without single word exchanged.

The goal of both intuition and anxiety are the same and is that they both want to protect us from harm. They just have very different methods to their approach. Depending on the person that method can be more or less subtle. Anxiety for a lot of people can be pretty intense and for some their intuition could be the more dominant feeling. Which is why I only speak for myself.

This week has provided me with a lot of profound insights and a deeper awareness of things. In order to truly connect with my intuition I’m learning to practice mind, body, soul checks and not just whenever I am feeling anxious but as much as possible.

As I end this blog, I must mention that everything that I share should be taken with a grain of salt. I am not a professional on the subject of anxiety or any other form of mental illness. I am learning just like everyone else is and I am only sharing my own experiences. If you have any major questions or concerns, I highly recommend that you seek professional opinion.

Leave a Reply

