Who Do I Think I Am?

Who am I? I spent my twenties searching for the answer to that question. Most people hate the idea of being labeled, because labels often times come with restrictions. But in search of self, I became obsessed with labels and their meanings. I wanted to know my own my label and most of all I wanted to know me.

So for years I searched for my label and nothing quite stuck. Why? Speaking for myself as a creative human, there is this desire to want to be understood. To want to have this sense of belonging. Having spent most of my life being that weird quiet kid, I grew up habitually and obsessively seeking validation and understanding.

After years of searching, I’ve finally found the answer to that difficult question. But first before I give the simple answer, first I shall attempt to break down my complexities.

I’m a writer, a dancer, a practicing illustrator, a singer and musician. I am a dorky goofball, a beloved bratty son, a distant but good friend and reliable colleague. I am that mysterious stranger sitting at the back of the bus wearing rounded aviator shades and hoodie that covers my bald head. I am the moon, I am reserved, I am sensitive, I am moody, I am paranoid, I am selectively social, I am an  introvert with extrovert tendencies. I am the sun setting in the evening, I am warm radiant energy and I am bubbles floating in the wind.

I am mildly attractive by some standards but I walk around like I’m a solid 10. I am a black queer self aware Scorpio. I am an innovator learning how not to be afraid to innovate. I am flawed, I am imperfect, I am figuring it all out just like everybody else.

It took me 29 years to figure out the answer to this question that I never had one answer to. Every person experiences me differently, so perceptions may vary. I just know that I am firm in who I know that I am and ultimately that’s all that matters to me.

I am a lot of things but to put it as simple as I can; I am me.

Leave a Reply

